The New 7 Deadly Sins

The New 7 Deadly Sins | Lyved

The New 7 Deadly Sins

The seven deadly sins were made famous by Dante Alighieri in his epic poem “The Divine Comedy.”

The seven sins are lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy, and pride.

Dante listed them to keep people in line and on the right path during the 1300’s.

Many people still avoid the temptations of these sins today, but now there are more “deadly” sins to avoid.
1. Waiting to be happy

One of the biggest misconceptions ever is that once you’re successful, once you own a house, when you have a lot of money, or once you’re retired, you’ll finally be happy.

But the truth is, you need happiness to achieve all of that in the first place.

There’s an excellent text by Crystal Boyd from her book “Happiness is a Journey.” It reminds readers to not wait to be happy. And she does so in a really profound way that everyone can relate to. I recommend you read the text. You can do so here:

Remember, the longer you wait to be happy the less time you’ll actually have to be happy.
2. Achieving success without helping others

If you truly want to be successful then you can’t focus your entire efforts on yourself. You must help other people achieve their goals and their own success.

There’s an old saying that the road to success is lonely, but it won’t be when you help others.
3. Belittling the dreams of others

Your dreams aren’t superior to any other person’s dreams.
4. Complacency

It’s one thing to be satisfied with what you have, but it’s another story when you’ve completely settled.

When you settle and don’t create any new dreams to go after, you’ve basically given up.
5. Not questioning

One of the greatest things we can do for ourselves is to question our lives and things in it as much as possible.

Questions like:

– Why me?

– Why not me?

– Do I really love what I’m doing?

We don’t need to have the answers right away, but we must keep thinking.
6. Not attempt to change the world

Changing the world is not as hard as it may seem. Even if you change the community and world around you, you’re doing a lot. Simple acts can create drastic change.
7. Fearing

The whole point of the original seven deadly sins was to instill fear in people. But living in fear isn’t living.

Even if you’ve committed some of these sins don’t fear; acknowledging you’ve done so is all the forgiveness you need.

There could be countless more sins. Have any sins you’d like to share? Are you or were you guilty of any of these sins? Please share in the comments below.

Stumble It!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s